Centre for Confidence and Well-being

Skip to content
Carol's Blog
Postcards from Scotland

Ethical Fashion Directory

The following is from the Ethical Fashion Directory compiled by Annalisa Simonella. If you have any queries please contact her via her website.

If you would like to download the whole document (with live links) please scroll to the bottom to access a PDF.


Look at:

Ethical Fashion Forum http://www.ethicalfashionforum.com/source- directory/directory/1

The Guardian Ethical Fashion Directory

The Ethical Consumer http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/ethi cal-fashion-directory-uk-clothing-brands- fairtrade-vegan


Driftwood Lifestyle Boutique (Glasgow) http://www.driftwoodlifestyle.co.uk/                   

Glad Rags Thrift (second hand - Glasgow) http://gladragsglasgow.co.uk/

Hibiscus Flower (Edinburgh) http://www.hibiscusflower.co.uk
69b Boutique (London) http://www.69bboutique.com

Here Today Here Tomorrow (London) http://www.heretoday-heretomorrow.com/

Online shops

Ethica http://www.shopethica.com/

The Good Place http://www.thegoodplace.com/


Fashion Conscience http://www.fashion-conscience.com/

Johari http://johari.co.uk

Procraftinations http://procraftinations.co.uk/

So Just Shop
style is... http://style-is.co.uk/

Style With Heart http://www.stylewithheart.com/

Think Boutique http://www.thinkboutique.co.uk/

TIFF http://www.tiff.uk.com/

Eponymous (local designers) http://www.weareponymous.com


Yooxygen http://www.yoox.com/project/yooxygen

Also look at: http://www.livingethically.co.uk/clothing.html

Fashion Revolution

‘How to be a fashion revolutionary’ booklet: http://fashionrevolution.org/wp- content/uploads/2015/11/HowToBeAFashionR evolutionary.pdf

Further reading: http://fashionrevolution.org/resources/further -reading/

Sustainable Design

Ethical Fashion Forum http://www.ethicalfashionforum.com/

Centre for Sustainable Fashion http://www.sustainable-fashion.com/

Textiles Environment Design http://www.tedresearch.net/


Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS) http://www.global-standard.org/

Oeko-tex standard http://www.oeko-tex.com

Sustainable Cotton Project http://www.sustainablecotton.org/

Greenpeace Detox http://www.greenpeace.org/detox/

Textile Exchange http://textileexchange.org/

Ethical labour

Clean Clothes Campaign http://www.cleanclothes.org/

Labour Behind the Label http://www.labourbehindthelabel.org/

European Fair Trade Association (EFTA) http://www.efta.int/

Clean Clothes Campaign http://www.cleanclothes.org/

Reduce waste

Love Your Clothes http://loveyourclothes.org.uk/

Sustainable Clothing Action Plan (WRAP) http://www.wrap.org.uk/content/sustainable- clothing-action-plan-1

Zero Waste Scotland http://www.zerowastescotland.org.uk/


Ecouterre http://www.ecouterre.com/

Eco Fashion Talk http://www.ecofashiontalk.com

Moral Fibres http://moralfibres.co.uk/

Style Eyes http://ethicalfashionblog.com/

Eco Fashion World http://www.ecofashionworld.com/

Fashion Editor At Large http://www.fashioneditoratlarge.com/


Alison Gwilt, A Practical Guide to Sustainable Fashion, Fairchild Books, 2014.

Sandy Black, Hilary Alexander, The Sustainable Fashion Handbook. Thames & Hudson, 2013.

Elizabeth Cline, Overdressed: Responsible Shopping in the Age of Cheap Fashion. Penguin, 2012.

Sandy Black, Eco-Chic The Fashion Paradox. Black Dog Publishing, 2011.

Safia Minney, Naked Fashion: The New Sustainable Fashion Revolution. New Internationalist, 2011.

Lucy Siegle, To Die For: Is Fashion Wearing Out The World? Fourth Estate, 2011.

Kate Fletcher, Sustainable Fashion & Textiles, Earthscan, 2008.

Click to view/download PDF file


Centre Events Previous Centre Events External Events Carol's Talks